Auckland UNESCO City of Music Photography Award 2021

Watch now on You Tube - Veronica McLaughlin, Award winner -

VeronicaMcLaughlin; Postcards

Auckland Festival of Photography and Auckland UNESCO City of Music are proud to present the inaugural Aotearoa Music Photography Award | Whakaahua Puoro Toa competition winners:

 Veronica McLaughlin, Delaney Davidson
Winner: Veronica McLaughlin, Delaney Davidson
 Doug Peters
2nd Prize: Doug Peters, Florence + The Machine

The award invited NZ professional and community photographers who love shooting musicians at rehearsals, gigs, festivals or community events. All genres and styles of image were welcome as long as photographs are music related. Entries CLOSED. Thanks to the photographers who took part.
View the 2021 entries

The award boasted a $1500 cash prize for the winner.
And 2nd prize of Master & Dynamic 0.95 MW65 Leica Edition Wireless Headphones (RRP $769)

Read - Terms and Conditions, Music Award

Media releases
8 Mar - Music Photography Award 2021
12 Mar - Photography as performance art
29 Apr - Entries Open - 2nd Prize Announced - Music Photography Award
4 May - Scoop, Entries Open - Aotearoa Music Photography Award
4 May -, Entries Open - Aotearoa Music Photography Award
5 May - NZ Musician, Entries Open - Aotearoa Music Photography Award 
17 May - Judges Announced, Music Award

MPA Entries 2021


Key sponsor:                                                                   Media Partner;                                                                          2nd Prize sponsor:

UNESCO logo                                                Audio Culture                                               Leica logo

Stay informed of our festivals and news

Subscribe to our newsletter and we'll send you periodic updates.